

BOARD OF EDUCATION WORK SESSION CLINTON MIDDLE SCHOOL MEDIA CENTER 600 E. CLINTON STREET CLINTON, MO 64735 AUGUST 10, 2022 – 6:00 P.M.

Minutes drafted on August 19, 2022 by Amanda Cothern, Board Secretary.

Board Members present: Susan Jones-Hard, Archie Goucher, Parker Mills, Marilyn Parratt, Ryan Parks, Scott Bernard

Board Members absent: Cody Westendorff

Also present: Superintendent, Brian Wishard; Assistant Superintendent, Christian Meier; Board Secretary, Amanda Cothern; District Communications, Angie Lawson

1.0 Call Meeting to Order

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 P.M. by President, Susan Jones-Hard.

2.0 Roll Call

Roll call was taken by President, Susan Jones-Hard and a quorum was established. Board Members present: Susan Jones-Hard, Archie Goucher, Parker Mills, Marilyn Parratt, Ryan Parks, Scott Bernard

Board Members absent: Cody Westendorff

Also present: Superintendent, Brian Wishard; Assistant Superintendent, Christian Meier; Board Secretary, Amanda Cothern

3.0 Approval of the Agenda (Action Item)

Motion for approval of the Agenda as presented.

Motion by Archie Goucher, second by Marilyn Parratt.

Final resolution: motion passed, 6-0.

Yes: Susan Jones-Hard, Archie Goucher, Parker Mills, Marilyn Parratt, Ryan Parks,

Scott Bernard

Absent at vote: Cody Westendorff

4.0 Consent Agenda (Action Item)

4.1 Minutes of July 25, 2022 Regular Board Meeting

Motion for approval of the Consent Agenda as presented.

Motion by Archie Goucher, second by Marilyn Parratt.

Final resolution: motion passed, 6-0.

Yes: Susan Jones-Hard, Archie Goucher, Parker Mills, Marilyn Parratt,

Ryan Parks, Scott Bernard

Absent at vote: Cody Westendorff



5.0 **Old Business**

Transfer of Funds (Action Item) 5.1

> Superintendent, Brian Wishard reviewed with the Board the transfer request to move \$200,000.00 from fund 1 to fund 4 for anticipated capital improvements.

Motion for approval to transfer \$200,000.00 from fund 1 to fund 4 as presented.

Motion by Marilyn Parratt, second by Scott Bernard.

Final resolution: motion passed, 6-0.

Yes: Susan Jones-Hard, Archie Goucher, Parker Mills, Marilyn Parratt,

Ryan Parks, Scott Bernard

Absent at vote: Cody Westendorff

6.0 **New Business**

Review and Setting of Tax Rate Hearing (Action Item) 6.1

> Superintendent, Brian Wishard reviewed with the Board the most recent information regarding the tax rate for 2022-2023.

> Motion to set the annual tax rate hearing for August 22, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.

Motion by Parker Mills, second by Marilyn Parratt.

Final resolution: motion passed, 6-0.

Yes: Susan Jones-Hard, Archie Goucher, Parker Mills, Marilyn Parratt, Ryan Parks, Scott Bernard

Absent at vote: Cody Westendorff

- 6.2 Review of EdCounsel 2022-2023 District Policies (Discussion Only – 1st Reading) Superintendent, Brian Wishard presented to the Board the new district policies provided by EdCounsel for the 2022-2023 school year.
- 6.3 Re-Adoption of Board Policy BBFA-2 & Approval of Conflict of Interest Ordinance (Action Item)

Board Secretary, Amanda Cothern reviewed Board Policy BBFA-2 and the Proposed Conflict of Interest Ordinance with the Board.

Motion for approval to re-adopt Board Policy BBFA-2 and the proposed Conflict of Interest Ordinance as presented.

Motion by Scott Bernard, second by Archie Goucher.

Final resolution: motion passed, 6-0.

Yes: Susan Jones-Hard, Archie Goucher, Parker Mills, Marilyn Parratt,

Ryan Parks, Scott Bernard

Absent at vote: Cody Westendorff

7.0 **Other Business – Personnel Matters**

7.1 Closed Session – Personnel Matters pursuant to 610.021(3), RSMo (Action) Motion to enter Closed Session for the purpose of discussing Personnel Matters pursuant to 610.021(3), RSMo.

Motion by Archie Goucher, second by Scott Bernard Time: 6:15 P.M.

Roll Call Vote: (Yes) Susan Jones-Hard, (Yes) Archie Goucher, (Yes) Parker Mills, (Yes) Marilyn Parratt, (Yes) Ryan Parks, (Yes) Scott Bernard



Absent at vote: Cody Westendorff

Discussion only regarding personnel matters with no action taken in Closed Session.

7.2 Exit Closed Session (Action)

Motion to exit Closed Session.

Motion by Ryan Parks, second by Archie Goucher Time: 7:07 P.M.

Roll Call Vote: (Yes) Susan Jones-Hard, (Yes) Archie Goucher, (Yes) Parker Mills,

(Yes) Marilyn Parratt, (Yes) Ryan Parks, (Yes) Scott Bernard

Absent at vote: Cody Westendorff

7.3 Approval of Personnel Report (Action Item)

Motion for the approval of the resignations, retirements, employments and reassignments as presented on the Personnel Report.

RESIGNATIONS/TERMINATIONS/RETIREMENTS*

Jennifer Mitchell (Retirement – CHS Secretary, effective 12/31/2022)*
Jonathan Eversole (Resignation – CHS Girls Soccer Coach, effective 05/24/2022)
Shelby Glasscock (Resignation – CMS Head Track Coach, effective 05/24/2022)

EMPLOYMENT/REASSIGNMENTS*

Brian Wright (Employment – CHS Assistant Baseball Coach, effective 08/16/2022)
Mandi Desbien (Employment – HE Paraprofessional, effective 08/17/2022)
Michael Day (Employment – CMS Assist. Girls Basketball Coach, effect. 08/16/2022)
Matt Petry (Employment – CMS Assistant Baseball Coach, effective 08/16/2022)
Wayne Griffin (Employment – CHS Winter Supervision Sponsor, effect. 08/16/2022)
Dawna Bybee (Employment – CHS Fall Supervision Sponsor, effective 08/16/2022)
Cherity Johnson (Employment – CHS Spring Supervision Sponsor, effect. 08/16/2022)

Michael Day (Reassignment – CIS Paraprofessional, effective 08/17/2022) Kim Beaty (Reassignment – CMS Paraprofessional, effective 08/17/2022) Jayme Bittle (Reassignment – CIS Special Education Teacher, effective 08/16/2022)

Motion by Scott Bernard, second by Archie Goucher.

Final resolution: motion passed, 6-0.

Yes: Susan Jones-Hard, Archie Goucher, Parker Mills, Marilyn Parratt,

Ryan Parks, Scott Bernard

Absent at vote: Cody Westendorff

8.0 Adjourn Meeting (Action Item)

Motion for approval to adjourn the meeting.

Motion by Archie Goucher, second by Parker Mills.

Final resolution: motion passed, 6-0.

Yes: Susan Jones-Hard, Archie Goucher, Parker Mills, Marilyn Parratt, Ryan Parks, Scott Bernard



Time: 7:08 P.M.

Susan Jones-Hard, Board President	Amanda Cothern, Board Secretary
Date	